Air Marshal Saju Balakrishnan AVSM, VM Takes Over As 17th Commander-In-Chief, Andaman & Nicobar Command (CINCAN)

Air Marshal Saju Balakrishnan, AVSM, VM has taken over as the 17th Commander-in-Chief of the Andaman and Nicobar Command (CINCAN) on 01 May 2023. The Andaman and Nicobar Command (ANC) is the only Joint-services Command in India and serves as a model for the country’s planned theaterisation of Army, Navy, and Air Force capabilities.

Air Marshal Saju Balakrishnan is a distinguished alumnus of the National Defence Academy Khadakwasla, having been commissioned into the fighter stream of the Indian Air Force (IAF) in 1986. With over 3200 accident-free fighter flying hours on various variants of MIG-21 and Kiran aircraft, he is an accomplished fighter combat leader. The Air Marshal has held various key positions throughout his illustrious career, including CO of a Bison Squadron, the first Commanding Officer of an AWACS Squadron, and Air Officer Commanding at the prestigious AF Station at Jodhpur. Before assuming Command of ANC he was the Senior Air Staff Officer at the IAF Training Command at Bengaluru.

For his distinguished service, he has been awarded the Presidential Awards of Ati Vishisht Seva Medal and Vayu Sena Medal.

Lt. Col N Thagarajan (Veteran)
Lt. Col N Thagarajan (Veteran)

Lieutenant Colonel N. Thiagarajan is a distinguished geopolitical and defence analyst and boasts over three decades of experience in the Indian Army. His expertise lies in strategic analysis, military affairs, interpreting complex international relations dynamics, and assessing their impact on global security.